CEO David Seaton Elected Chairman of Fluor’s Board

Former CEO Alan Boeckmann Retires from Board of Directors

Thursday, February 2, 2012 5:00 pm EST



Public Company Information:

"I look forward to leading our global workforce in my expanded role as we strive together to grow our end markets and strengthen Fluor’s global presence."

IRVING, Texas--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Fluor Corporation (NYSE: FLR) announced today that its board of directors elected David T. Seaton as the company’s new chairman. Seaton, 50, was named chief executive officer (CEO) and company director in February 2011. Seaton will hold both the chairman and CEO positions going forward.

Alan L. Boeckmann retires from Fluor’s board having served the last year as the non-executive board chairman and the previous nine years in the role as Fluor’s chairman and CEO. The leadership change was voted on and approved during the company’s February board meeting. All changes are effective February 2, 2012.

“I have worked closely with Alan as well as the other board members over the last several years and I am appreciative of their confidence in my stewardship,” said Seaton. “I look forward to leading our global workforce in my expanded role as we strive together to grow our end markets and strengthen Fluor’s global presence.”

“Alan’s contributions to Fluor’s board over the last decade are innumerable. He helped the company achieve unprecedented levels of success across all business metrics during both stable and unstable economic conditions,” said Peter J. Fluor, the company’s lead independent director. “Today, the board has voted enthusiastically to support David as Fluor’s new chairman and truly begin a new chapter in the company’s history. The board is fully confident that David will help Fluor achieve great accomplishments in the future, just like other great Fluor leaders have done in the past.”

“I am honored to have worked with so many wonderful and gifted people at Fluor over the course of my long career,” said Alan Boeckmann, Fluor’s retiring non-executive chairman. “I hope when people remember my time at the company they can say without reservation that I always had a passion to build and make Fluor a leader in our sector. David Seaton is the right person to lead Fluor and I know the board is fully supportive of where David wants to take the company. The future of Fluor is very bright under David’s leadership.”

Seaton is a board member of The Mosaic Company (NYSE: MOS) and the Partnering Against Corruption Initiative within the World Economic Forum. He is also a board member of the American Petroleum Institute and the U.S.-Saudi Arabian Business Council. Seaton serves as co-chair of the B20/G20 Task Force on Corruption and as co-chair of the World Economic Forum’s Global Agenda Council on Corruption. He also serves as chairman of the President’s Initiative Council at the University of South Carolina and is the Chairman for the University’s $1B Capital Campaign. Seaton holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of South Carolina.

About Fluor Corporation

Fluor Corporation (NYSE: FLR) designs, builds and maintains many of the world's most challenging and complex projects. Founded in 1912, John Simon Fluor Sr started the company with a modest investment of $100. Since those humble beginnings, the company has grown into one of the largest engineering & construction companies in the world. Fluor is celebrating its 100th anniversary during 2012.

Today, through its global network of offices on six continents, the company provides comprehensive capabilities and world-class expertise in engineering, procurement, construction, commissioning, operations, maintenance and project management. Headquartered in Irving, Texas, Fluor is a FORTUNE 200 company and had revenue of $20.8 billion in 2010. For more information, visit and

Photos/Multimedia Gallery Available:

Multimedia Files:

Preview image
Fluor Non-Executive Chairman and former CEO Alan L. Boeckmann Retires from Fluor Board (Photo: Business Wire)
Preview image
Fluor Corporation CEO David T. Seaton Named Board Chairman (Photo: Business Wire)


Fluor Corporation
Media Relations
Keith Stephens, 469-398-7624
Brian Mershon, 469-398-7621
Investor Relations
Ken Lockwood, 469-398-7220
Jason Landkamer, 469-398-7222


Newsroom Inquiries


Business Wire NewsHQsm